The Maryland Steeplechase Association announces

The 2017 Maryland Governor’s Cup Series Winners


Maryland Open Timber Champion: Senior Senator (Irvin Crawford, II)

Maryland Novice Timber Champion: Spirit of Shankly (GB)(Thistledown Farm)

Amateur Apprentice Timber Horse & Rider Champion: Class Indian (Justin Batoff)

Maryland Heavyweight Timber Champion:

*Three-way Tie – Golden Slammer (Upland Partners)

Mystic Strike (Upland Partners)

All of the Above (Sycamore Run Farm and Move Up Stables)

Leading Timber Rider Award: Mark Beecher

Leading Amateur Rider – Thomas H. Voss Memorial Perpetual Trophy: Mark Beecher

Leading Trainer Award: Joseph Davies

Overall leading Rider: Mark Beecher

The Voss Amateur Flat Race Series: *Three-way Tie – Keri Brion, Mark Beecher, Dirk Crane

The Betsy Firey Memorial Trophy – Leading Lady Rider: Annie Yeager

Overall leading Pony Rider: Tommy Fenwick

Leading Junior Small Pony Rider: Anna Farber

Leading Junior Medium Pony Rider: Tommy Fenwick

Leading Junior Large Pony Rider: Tommy Fenwick

Leading Junior Horse Rider: Ella Brophy

Leading Junior Rider Non-TB Horse: Teddy Davies

Md-Bred $500 bonus winner: Hill Tie

Md-Million Sired $500 bonus winner: Senior Senator


The winners of the following discretionary awards will be announced at the banquet: the Jonathan Kiser Memorial Scholarship, the Junior Foxchasing Scholarship, the D.M. Smithwick Award, and the Hurdy-Gurdy.

The awards will be presented Thursday, June 15, at the Annual Maryland Steeplechase Association Awards Reception. To learn more or to order tickets, visit our Eventbrite site:

Eventbrite - 2017 Maryland Steeplechase Awards Dinner

The Maryland Steeplechase Association, Inc. is a not-for-profit corporation organized for the purpose of promoting and developing amateur equestrian athletic sports competition through the Governor’s Cup Series, for fostering traditional relationships between foxchasing and steeplechasing, and for the development, administration, and support of educational programs and clinics at all levels of amateur equestrian competition. MSA accomplishes these goals by providing awards and incentives for amateur athletes and by creating and awarding various youth scholarships for the development of future sportsmen.

For photos of winners, please contact photographers listed on


Share this article.