2018 MSA Governor’s Cup Award Winners


Maryland Open Timber Champion: Senior Senator (Irvin Crawford, II)

Maryland Novice Timber Champion: Western Exchange (Caves Farm)

Amateur Apprentice Timber Horse & Rider Champion: *Two Way Tie:

Witor (GER) (Eric Poretz)

Stand Down (IRE) (Eric Poretz)

Maryland Heavyweight Timber Champion: *Three-way Tie

Daddy In The Dark (H. Bruce Fenwick)
Mystic Strike (Upland Partners)
Jessie O (Flying Horse Farm)

Leading Timber Rider Award: Eric Poretz

Leading Amateur Rider – Thomas H. Voss Memorial Perpetual Trophy: Eric Poretz

Leading Trainer Award: Joseph Davies

Overall leading Rider: Eric Poretz

The Voss Amateur Flat Race Series: Brett Owings

The Betsy Firey Memorial Trophy – Leading Lady Rider: Bethany Baumgardner

Overall leading Pony Rider: Colin Smith

Leading Junior Small Pony Rider: Scarlet Davies

Leading Junior Medium Pony Rider: Abigail Murphy

Leading Junior Large Pony Rider: Collin Smith

Leading Junior Horse Rider: Charlie Marquez

Leading Junior Rider Non-TB Horse:

Md-Bred $500 bonus winner: Hill Tie

Md-Million Sired $500 bonus winner: Senior Senator

The winners of the following discretionary awards will be announced at the banquet: the Jonathan Kiser Memorial Scholarship, the Junior Foxchasing Scholarship, the D.M. Smithwick Award, and the Hurdy-Gurdy.

The awards will be presented Thursday, June 14, at the Annual Maryland Steeplechase Association Awards Reception. To learn more or to order tickets, click here.

The Maryland Steeplechase Association, Inc. is a not-for-profit corporation organized for the purpose of promoting and developing amateur equestrian athletic sports competition through the Governor’s Cup Series, for fostering traditional relationships between fox chasing and steeplechasing, and for the development, administration, and support of educational programs and clinics at all levels of amateur equestrian competition. MSA accomplishes these goals by providing awards and incentives for amateur athletes and by creating and awarding various youth scholarships for the development of future sportsmen.

Share this article.