The 2023 Maryland Governor’s Cup Series Winners

The Maryland Governors’ Cup Steeplechase Horse of the Year (Open Timber Champion): Royal Ruse (Owned by Charlie Fenwick Jr.; Trained by Sanna Neilson)

The Maryland Novice Timber Champion: Mr. Fine Threads (Owned by Armata Stables; Trained by Joseph Davies)

Heavyweight Timber Champion: Bogey’s Image (Owned by Harvey Goolsby, Achsah O’Donovan, Dan Colhoun; Trained by Joseph Davies)

The $2,000 ITM Maryland Irish Thoroughbred Horse of the Year: Tomgarrow (Ire) (Owned by Leipers Fork Steeplechasers; Trained by Leslie Young)

Amateur Apprentice Timber Horse & Rider Champion: Royal Ruse & Elizabeth Scully

The H. Turney McKnight Perpetual Trophy for Leading Owner: Armata Stables

Leading Trainer: Joseph Davies

Leading Amateur Rider • Overall Leading Rider: Teddy Davies

The H Brooks Durkee Memorial Leading Timber Rider – Tie: Teddy Davies & Freddie Procter

Leading Lady Rider: Elizabeth Scully

Voss Amateur Flat Race Series: Virginia Korrell

Leading Junior Small Pony Rider: Cami Kern

Leading Junior Medium Pony Rider: Carly Kern

Leading Junior Large Pony Rider: Jaidyn Shore

Overall Leading Pony Rider: Cami Kern

Leading Junior Horse Rider TIE: James Wyatt & Jaidyn Shore

The Austin Michael Ciba Tamberino Leading Junior Rider Award: Cami Kern

Maryland -Bred $500 bonus winner: Mr Fine Threads (17 points)

Maryland Million – Sired $500 bonus winner: Bogey’s Image (12 points)

MSA offers several discretionary awards (see below) that are announced at the awards reception. Not all discretionary awards are presented.

  • The Jonathan Kiser Memorial Scholarship
  • Junior Foxchasing Scholarships
  • The D.M. Smithwick Award
  • The Hurdy-Gurdy

The awards will be presented Thursday, June 15, at the Annual Maryland Steeplechase Association Awards Reception. To learn more or make your reservations online, click here. The awards reception will feature an art show by Sam Robinson; proceeds to benefit the MSA Jonathan Kiser Scholarship Fund and other worthy causes. Follow the MSA on Facebook to see and purchase art online prior to the reception!

The Maryland Steeplechase Association, Inc. is a not-for-profit corporation organized for the purpose of promoting and developing amateur equestrian athletic sports competition through the Governor’s Cup Series, for fostering traditional relationships between fox chasing and steeplechasing, and for the development, administration, and support of educational programs and clinics at all levels of amateur equestrian competition. MSA accomplishes these goals by providing awards and incentives for amateur athletes and by creating and awarding various youth scholarships for the development of future sportsmen.


Share this article.