The Board of Directors of the Maryland Steeplechase Association are pleased to announce the following winners of the 2019 Governor’s Cup Series, presented by Farm Credit:

  • The Maryland Governor’s Cup Horse of the Year (Open Timber Champion): Senior Senator (Irvin Crawford, II)
  • Maryland Novice Timber Champion: Schoodic (Mrs. John Fisher)
  • Amateur Apprentice Timber Horse & Rider Champion: Flaming Sword (Ire) (Aaron Sinnott)
  • Leading Trainer Award: Jack Fisher
  • The H. Brooks Durkee Memorial Perpetual Trophy for Leading Timber Rider Award: Eric Poretz
  • The Thomas H. Voss Memorial Perpetual Trophy for the leading Amateur Rider: Eric Poretz
  • Overall leading Rider: Eric Poretz
  • Voss Amateur Flat Race Series: Paul O’Neill
  • The Betsy Firey Memorial Trophy Leading Lady Rider: Bethany Baumgardner
  • The H. Turney McKnight Perpetual Trophy for Leading Owner: Morning Star Farm (Ricky Hendriks)
  • Overall leading Pony Rider: Austin Belt
  • Leading Junior Small Pony Rider: Sophie O’Brien
  • Leading Junior Medium Pony Rider: Teddy Davies
  • Leading Junior Large Pony Rider: Austin Belt
  • Leading Junior Horse Rider: Parker Hendriks
  • Md-Bred $500 bonus winner: Boogie Biz
  • Md-Million Sired $500 bonus winner: Senior Senator

The winners of the following discretionary awards will be announced at the banquet: the Jonathan Kiser Memorial Scholarship, the Junior Foxchasing Scholarship, and the D.M. Smithwick Award.

Awards will be presented Thursday, June 20 at the Annual Maryland Steeplechase Association Awards Reception; click here to r.s.v.p. online.

Share this article.